6 Easy Ways To De-Stress

Sometimes life gets crazy. As organized as you may be, life can spin out of control, conflicts inevitably arise and things can get stressful!

I am a bit stressed this week. Cramming tons of studying and tests in before my online Summer classes close tomorrow (because I procrastinated, ugh), scheduled to work extra shifts at work this week and preparing for a long trip next week. My brain is on a bit of an overload.. So naturally I decided to take a quick study break and share what I like to do to de-stress and unwind when I am having a week like this.

Whether it be responsibilities like I have this week or just being generally overwhelmed emotionally by relationship conflicts, worries, finances, you name it, it’s always good to have a list ready of your go to things you know you can escape to and just breathe. Whether it be 2 minutes or 2 hours, making it a priority to set aside time for yourself to be still and de-stress during a long day is so healthy for us and a good practice to get into.

Here is my go to list:

  • At home spa time: take a hot bath with bubbles, candles, relaxing music whatever you like the best. Do a face mask, take extra time on your skincare routine, really pamper yourself.
  • Listen to some of your favorite music. Finding a comfy spot in your house, a swing outside, or any good space alone and just putting in your headphones can really help you “escape your troubles” for a little. I like to have a go to playlist on my spotify that I can flip over to whenever I want to just chill out and hear some good tunes. Check out my relaxation playlist here!!
  • Treat yo self! It’s no secret that food is comforting, hence the term comfort food. Take yourself out to get your favorite meal for lunch. Don’t worry too much about how healthy it is and just enjoy it! At least during the time that your eating things may feel a little better.
  • Journal/Quiet Time/Read. Over the past year I have learned how helpful it is to just kind of write everything down on paper. I like to journal not only to keep memories but also to just process through things as I write and unwrap my day. It really helps clear your head and get a barring on things. If you are spiritual  like me, journaling prayers, and mixing in scripture reading to this practice also can bring a lot of peace to a very hectic day. My Christian faith plays a very important role in my day to day life so I love to just journal one big, long prayer/conversation to God and dig into some verses on stress, anxiety, worry, etc. This is always a favorite of mine…

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish it’s work, so that you may be mature & complete, not lacking anything” James 1:2-4

  • Get Active! Moving your body really can make a big difference in your mood, clear your mind and motivate you. Like Elle Woods says in Legally Blonde, “exercise gives you endorphins and endorphins make you happy!” Take 30 minutes and hit the gym, take your dog on a walk, throw on some music and dance like a crazy person around your room (my fav.), then get back to business.
  • Drink Hot Tea or Coffee. I’m not a coffee drinker because it doesn’t react well with me, but for a lot of people that’s the number one! If that’s you, go for it. What I do love are hot herbal tea. Drinking a warm beverage of your choice can just make you feel cozy and relaxed. This is always something I gravitate towards after a long day. I love earl grey, peppermint and Tazo wild sweet orange tea the best.

What do you do to de-stress? Let me know in the comments below!

Now back to studying for me.. with a mug of hot tea in my hand, yes.

XO,

Eleanor

 

One thought on “6 Easy Ways To De-Stress

  1. Such a great list! One of my favorite things to do when I’m stressed is just hop in the car and drive around with the windows down for a while, always brings down the stress levels

    Like

Leave a Reply

