Nighttime Skincare Routine: Get Un-ready With Me

I used to be that girl who would just grab a makeup wipe and jump into bed. But in the past year I have really started to appreciate and take seriously my nighttime skincare routine. It takes more time and effort but once you get in the habit your skin will thank you, trust me! Having a routine also really helps you to unwind at the end of the day and feel ready for a good nights sleep. This 7 step routine keeps my skin clear from breakouts and hydrated all night long.

Before I begin getting ready for bed, I like to slip on some comfy PJ’s and pull my hair back away from my face. I prefer to use scrunchies or skinny hairbands because the don’t pull on your hair as much or leave a ponytail crease.

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 11.28.05 PM

Now let’s begin..


1) Remove your makeup

A lot of facial cleansers claim to remove your makeup as well as cleanse your face, but I have found that most of them don’t do a very thorough job. If I don’t remove my makeup before washing my face I end up with quite a bit of makeup left over and that is just going to clog up your pores over night, which nobody wants. So, I use the Clinique “Take the Day Off” Cleansing Balm all over my face and eyes before anything else to remove literally, the whole day.

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 11.30.43 PM
I get about this much on my fingertips and massage the balm all over my face and eyes while my skin is still dry. Once you warm up the balm against you skin it turns into an oil and really melts every last trace of makeup away. I find that using circular motions works best. Then rinse with warm water before moving on to the next step.

2) Cleanse your face

I have used the Neutrogena “Oil Free Acne Wash” every night for about a year now. This face wash is available at practically any drugstore for about $5. I have found that for everyday use this cleanser is just harsh enough to give my skin the deep clean it needs without over drying or irritating it. People often make the mistake of over exfoliating their skin with abrasive scrubs in an attempt to fend off blemishes. But this harsh scrubbing on the skins surface, especially if you are using an exfoliating cleanser with Microbeads, can actually create tiny tears in the skin making it easier for dirt and bacteria to get in and clog up the pores overnight.

Instead I use a more gentle, basic cleanser like the Neutrogena for everyday and exfoliate with a cleansing brush once or twice a week in the mornings to scrub off any dead skin and keep my skin glowy.

3) Toner, Toner, Toner!

Toner is important because it helps to restore the pH balance of your skin. Our skin is naturally slightly acidic but when we wash our face, our skin’s natural pH balance gets disturbed due to the alkaline nature of soap. When this happens our skin will work extra hard to try and restore the balance on its own, often times resulting in excess oil production. Using a toner prevents this and restores the balance quickly. Toner is also good for getting off any last remnants of makeup and helps to close up your pores, thus reducing the penetration of impurities over night.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 12.29.17 AM.png
Add a small amount of toner to a cotton ball and gently blot over your face. I really like the Origins “United State” balancing tonic for morning and nighttime use.

4) Moisturize

Over night I like to use a more heavy duty moisturizer so it can really work its magic while I sleep. I use the Origins “Make A Difference plus +” rejuvenating treatment. Within the Make A Difference plus+ line they have 3 options, the treatment (which I use), a moisturizer and a cream. All 3 offer really good hydration but the formula pictured is my favorite and go to because it is a gel like texture. It goes on really smooth and doesn’t feel too heavy, while still moisturizing well.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 12.30.40 AM.png
*Don’t forget to rub your moisturizer down your neck to prevent aging later on, remember our faces aren’t the only thing getting older*

5) Put on an Eye Cream

Eye cream is something I fairly recently incorporated into my routine in an attempt to prolong the anti aging process. Making sure the skin around your eyes stays hydrated is super important for both wrinkle prevention and a smooth application of makeup, especially if you are using an under eye concealer regularly and want to avoid creasing. I use the Beauty Counter “Any Time Eye Cream” in the morning and at night.

When applying your eye cream be careful to use a light hand. The skin around the eyes is very delicate, so make sure not to rub or tug at the skin during application. I like to gently press into my skin starting near the inner corners of my eye and working my way to the outer corner and up.

* Tip: use your ring finger to apply product around the eyes because it has the softest finger pad.

6) Spot Treat any Blemishes

I don’t have any at the moment but when I do get a breakout or a pimple I like to treat it immediently when it starts to form under the skin. You know when you can feel a pimple coming on? That’s when you want to catch it! Hands down the best spot treatment I have ever found is the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion. If anything is magic in a bottle, it is this.

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 11.30.57 PM
This small bottle comes separated like you see in the photo above. Make sure not to shake or mix the bottle before using. It is best to store this upright. Simply dip a q-tip straight in until you touch the pink product at the bottom. Then remove the q-tip and dot directly on the blemish.
When I use this on an active zit or oncoming zit the spot is always completely gone with 2 days. This stuff is amazing! But it is also very potent & drying so be careful not to go overboard with it and only put it where you need it.

7) Lip balm

Before I call it a night I always like to put on a generous amount of lip balm so that I wake up with smooth, hydrated lips. First I will go ahead and brush my teeth and then I either use Eucerin Aquaphor healing ointment (a long time, drugstore favorite of mine for many things) or the Beauty Counter Lip Conditioner.


Masks

A couple times a week I like to go the extra mile and use a mask on my face if I have the time. These are my favorite ones & where to buy them:

Beauty Counter Balancing Facial Mask ($48) – Good for minimizing pores, draws out impurities and oil

Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Nanoskin sheet mask ($6) – Hydrating, moisturizing

OLEHENRIKSEN Moment of Truth 2 in 1 polishing sugar mask ($42) – Makes skin soft, glowy and smooth, exfoliates skin

Origins Out of Trouble ($28) – 10 minute mask to rescue problem skin/acne

After I finish up my skincare routine I like to hop in bed and read or watch Netflix for a bit. Currently I’m watching the new season of Jane the Virgin, I highly recommend the series if you haven’t watched! Usually I’ll drink cup of a hot peppermint tea, or an herbal, caffeine free tea of my choosing while I do this. I find warm drinks at night to be so relaxing, and peppermint tea especially is really good for soothing the tummy and digestion to ensure a restful nights sleep. Then I set my alarm and make a “to do” list on my phone for the next day & it’s off to dreamland.. Zzz

Until next time.
XO,

Eleanor

Leave a Reply

